ACADEMIE-EDITH-SEREI-electrolyse

Electrolysis: a technique that is still relevant despite the popularity of photo-hair removal

With the advent of new methods of permanent hair removal (laser and pulsed light), some predict the imminent disappearance of electrolysis. That being said, at the Académie Edith Serei, we think quite differently. Our arguments in favour of this proven technique are many and varied – discover them in this blog article!

Photoepilation: pros and cons to consider

Of course, photoepilation, which burns the hair root with a concentrated beam of light, has several advantages:

  • Affordable cost;
  • Removal of more than one hair at a time;
  • Smaller number of sessions;
  • Permission to shave between sessions;
  • Effective even on ingrown hairs;
  • Etc.

However, it also has some shortcomings, including its poor performance on very light hair – and on dark skin! – and the obligation to avoid exposure to the sun for several weeks after treatment. In addition, with photoepilation, it is very rare that the results are 100% satisfactory. In truth, it is generally necessary to complete the work with another method, namely (you guessed it!) the "good old" electrolysis!

Electrolysis, a powerful solution that continues to prove its worth!
The principle of electrolysis consists in inserting a metal filament into the hair follicle and sending an electric shock to "destroy" the hairs one by one (even the blades!) permanently. Since it removes hair only individually, electrolysis requires more sessions than photoepilation, which makes it almost as expensive as laser or pulsed light, especially if it involves very large areas (e.g. complete legs). Fortunately, the results are more likely to be final! In our opinion, it is the ideal solution to remove stubborn hairs from small areas, such as eyebrows or upper lip.

Are you still hesitating between photoepilation and electrolysis? Make an appointment with one of our beauticians for a consultation!

The Académie Edith Serei, our training courses, your success!

Nowadays, permanent hair removal techniques are very often combined. For this reason, we recommend that all aspiring beauty professionals who wish to specialize in permanent hair removal methods do not limit themselves to learning recent procedures, because electrolysis is far from having said its last word! Find out more about the training and beauty courses offered in our Montréal and Laval schools!

0 0

ACADEMIE-EDITH-SEREI-electrolyse

L’électrolyse : une technique encore pertinente malgré la popularité de la photo-épilation

Avec l’arrivée des nouvelles méthodes d’épilation définitive (laser et lumière pulsée), certains prédisent la disparition imminente de l’électrolyse. Cela dit, à l’Académie Edith Serei, nous pensons tout autrement. Nos arguments en faveur de cette technique éprouvée sont nombreux et variés — découvrez-les dans cet article de blogue!


    La photo-épilation : des qualités et des défauts à considérer
    Certes, la photo-épilation, qui brûle la racine des poils à l’aide d’un faisceau de lumière concentré, comporte plusieurs avantages :

    • coût abordable;
    • élimination de plus d’un poil à la fois;
    • plus petit nombre de séances;
    • permission de se raser entre les séances;
    • efficacité même sur les poils incarnés;
    • etc.

    Par contre, elle comporte aussi des lacunes, notamment sa contre-performance sur les poils très clairs — et sur les peaux foncées! — et l’obligation d’éviter l’exposition au soleil pendant plusieurs semaines après un traitement. De plus, avec la photo-épilation, il est très rare que les résultats soient satisfaisants à 100 %. En vérité, il faut généralement compléter le travail avec une autre méthode, soit (vous l’aurez deviné!) la « bonne vieille » électrolyse!


    L’électrolyse, une solution performante qui continue de faire ses preuves!
    Le principe de l’électrolyse consiste à insérer un filament métallique dans le follicule pileux et à envoyer une décharge électrique pour « détruire » les poils un par un (même les pâles!) de façon permanente. Puisqu’elle ne retire les poils qu’à l’unité, l’électrolyse requiert davantage de séances que la photo-épilation, ce qui en fait un traitement presque aussi coûteux que le laser ou la lumière pulsée, surtout s’il est question de très grandes zones (ex. : jambes complètes). Heureusement, les résultats ont plus de chances d’être définitifs! À notre avis, il s’agit de la solution idéale pour venir à bout des poils rebelles des petites zones comme les sourcils ou la lèvre supérieure.

    Vous hésitez toujours entre la photo-épilation et l’électrolyse? Prenez rendez-vous avec l’une de nos esthéticiennes pour une consultation!

    L’Académie Edith Serei : nos formations, votre réussite!

    De nos jours, les techniques d’épilation définitive sont très souvent combinées. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons à toutes les aspirantes professionnelles de la beauté qui désirent se spécialiser dans les méthodes d’épilation permanente de ne pas se restreindre à l’apprentissage des procédés récents, car l’électrolyse est loin d’avoir dit son dernier mot! Informez-vous sur les formations et les cours d’esthétique offerts dans nos écoles de Montréal et de Laval!